18 Questions with the Author

Hi! Since the start of my website launch I have been wanting to find a way to make this more personal without flooding my 'about me' page. I have decided to interview myself and present you with 18 questions and answers about me.

What is your big 3?

I am a Virgo sun, Gemini rising and Aquarius moon. I am still learning more about what all of this means, and will totally keep you updated on my findings via my blog.


How did this blog come to life?

Ever since I graduated high school, I knew I wanted to be a writer. During college I would daydream of life after graduation, having a big-kid job and branding myself as a writer. Being the eager person I am, I made my first blog when I was a sophomore in college (which is now archived) and poured out my thoughts and ideas there.


Now that I am graduated and have the big-kid job I always dreamed of, I actually had a need to brand myself and decided to revamp the old website I made years ago. I did transfer over some of the posts that didn't embarrass me too much and you can find those on my blog page.


While I love what I do for work, I want this to be a space where I use my writing purely for things that interest me. One of the things I love so much about this career is that you can write about anything, and I intend to take full advantage of that.


What is your favorite animal?

My sister and I joke all of the time that our favorite animal is Beau, her cat. While he is an insanely handsome creature, my actual favorite animal is a giraffe. I am not quite sure what about them stole my heart, but I have loved them since I was in middle school.

Obligatory cat tax: Beau is the handsome brown bengal, lounging next to his white bengal friend Elliot

How old are you?

I am 22 years old! It feels kind of crazy to say that, some days I feel like I am ridiculously old and other days I feel like a teenager.


Where did you grow up?

I grew up in a small town in southern Iowa. For the sake of simplicity, safety and to sound cooler than I really am, I just tell people I am from Des Moines. After all, the prettiest girls in the world are from there.


How do you like your coffee?

I absolutely love coffee. And no, I'm not one of those people who say they like coffee when they're really just in it for the creamer. I like coffee. I will drink black coffee, lattes, cold brew and pretty much any caffeinated creation you pass my way. That being said, my go-to drink is an iced caramel coffee with almond milk from Dunkin'.


What are your favorite places to shop?

Aside from local stores and thrift shops which would be hard to get to for anyone who doesn't live near me, here are some top stores that I like to (window) shop at:


Anthropologie, Missguided, Madewell, Nordstrom, Garage, Pretty Little Thing, ASOS and Etsy.


What type of music do you listen to?

Currently I am loving alternative and indie music, but I like a little bit of everything. If you were to look through my Apple Music you would find a variety of alternative, pop, rock, country, rap, oldies, musicals and indie music.


What do you do for work?

I am a freelance eCommerce writer. I work from home and spend my days writing about online products to help readers get a better understanding of merchandise before they buy, or help get people started on ideas for gifts. Somedays I feel like I am online shopping for a living, and it really helps my obsession with online shopping.


Where did you go to college?

I got my AA from Des Moines Area Community College in 2019, then transferred to Drake University to graduate with a BAJMC in 2021. I would love to go back to Drake in the future and tackle a masters degree, but we will see where life takes me.


What is your favorite book?

This is a hard question, because I love reading and I am tied between three favorites.


The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

The Road by Cormac McCarthy


What are some of your hobbies?

My limited and niche hobbies consist of going on walks with my little sister, hanging out with my insanely cool nieces, perusing around downtown Des Moines with friends, a limited amount of yoga, experimenting with hair masks and coming up with hilarious nick names for my cats.


What is your personal sense of style?

My sense of style has been changing a lot recently and I am finally leaning into it and dabbling in things I actually enjoy. For clothing I love to keep things neutral, I have a limited amount of color in my closet and am a total sucker for anything brown. The weird thing I have discovered lately, is that I love colorful home decor. If it looks like it belongs on a shelf in Anthropologie, I probably like it.


Opinions on the oxford comma?

Personally, I do not use it. Professionally, I use it daily. While I don't like it myself, I don't have strong opinions against it, I just like to keep things simple.


What is your favorite social media platform?

I love using Instagram to catch up with friends, find new recipes, send astrology memes to my sisters and update friends on my life. My actual favorite has to be Twitter though. I love that everybody is just unhinged and hilariously themselves on there. For me, I feel that I have to be professional on the internet all day long, and Twitter is my corner to act insane.


How big is your family?

Growing up I always felt like I had a small family because it was just me, my sister and my mom. Since I've gotten older my family has seemed much larger. I have three siblings that I am in contact with almost daily, four nieces, a nephew, tons of uncles, cousins and grandparents that I see regularly and involve in my life.


Having a semi-large family makes life fun, and I know that I always have someone to turn to no matter what I need. When I need sewing tips, my grandma is always there. My oldest niece is always down to gossip about celebrity drama with me, and my two sisters are like a personal diary.


What are some of your traveling dreams?

My dad's side of the family is from Sweden, so I have been wanting to travel there recently. My sister and I had talked about going, but currently they are closed to US visitors.


My boyfriend's family is from Italy and he always talks about visiting there, so that is near the top of my list for out of country travel. In the US I want to go to Colorado, New York and Oregon.


What is something you are looking forward to this year?

This year I am looking forward to new things in life. This will be my first year out of college, so I am ready to experience new things and see what I will do with all of my new free time.